The treasurer is responsible for all the money belonging to Kingsbury County. The treasurer collects real estate and mobile home taxes, provides information regarding real estate taxes, manages county investments, handles vehicle licensing and transfer of vehicle titles at the Kingsbury County Court House.
Below are the window hours for the Kingsbury County Treasurer:
8:00 am-4:00 pm
Open over noon hour
Closed all State and Federal Holidays
Kingsbury County Treasurer
PO Box 166
202 2nd St. SE
De Smet, SD 57231
202 2nd Street Southeast, De Smet, South Dakota 57231, United States
When people think of county revenues they often think of property taxes, which account for the majority of revenue in county budgets.
The treasurer, as the tax collector is responsible for collecting all property taxes for the county, cities, school districts, and any other political district authorized to levy real estate taxes.
1. When are my taxes due?
A. Taxes in South Dakota are due and payable the first of January, However, the first half of the property tax payments is accepted until April 30th without penalty. The second half of taxes will be accepted until October 31st without penalty.
2. What if I miss the deadline for my tax payment?
A. There is a 10% annual penalty for late payments. Please keep in mind that taxes are not postmarked by April 30th and October 31st, respectively are also considered delinquent. When the last day taxes are due, falls on a Sunday. Tax payments must be received by 4:00 PM on the last business day of the month.
The county treasurers' primary duty is to manage all county funds. Because the treasurer receives money from other county offices, they are responsible for investing that money to help generate more money.
In South Dakota, the county treasurer is responsible for issuing motor vehicle titles, licenses, registrations, and recording liens. Although the division of motor vehicles is the central state office for maintaining accurate motor vehicle records, it is the county treasurer who enters the vehicle information into the central database. This vehicle registration information is not only important to counties, but also other state agencies as well as your local police and sheriff's offices. Vehicle licensing is an important responsibility and necessary for local governments. The money generated from licensing helps maintain your local roads and bridges.
When are my vehicle tags due?
A. The deadline to purchase license plates tags and decals is dependent on the first letter of your last name> For instance, if your last name is Anderson, the last day to purchase your tags is January 31st.
When can vehicle license plates and decals be renewed?
A. You can renew up to 90 days before your expiration date and up to 30 days after your expiration date.
When can I renew my driver's license?
A. You may renew your license up to 180 days before expiration. If you are turning 21, you aren't able to renew before your birthday, but can renew up to 30 days after your birthday.
What do I need to renew my driver's license?
A. If you currently have a South Dakota federally compliant card with a gold star in the upper right corner, you may renew up to 180 days prior to your expiration date. You will need to provide:
Registration is on a staggered licensing system based on the first letter of the owner's last name. Vehicle owners must provide either the South Dakota driver's license number or Social Security number of all registered owners on the title before the license may be renewed.
South Dakota residents have 45 days from the date purchase of a news or used motor vehicle to transfer title into their name.
A penalty of $1 per week of up to 26 weeks will be assessed for late transfers. The penalty for a transfer after 26 weeks is $50. In addition, interest and penalties will apply to the 4% motor vehicle excise tax. In lieu of sales and use taxes, a 4% excise tax is imposed on most motor vehicle transactions unless exempt. The excise tax is based on the purchase price of the motor vehicle listed on the bill of sale, purchase order, or sales contract.
Vehicles that are 11 years old or older and sold for $2500 or less are tax exempt. Credit is given for trade-ins.