Welcome to Kingsbury County, South Dakota!

Kingsbury County Courthouse

202 2nd St. SE

De Smet, SD 57231

Monday- Friday 8:00 AM- 5:00 PM

(Most Offices)

Treasurer's Business Hours are 8:00 Am- 4:30 Pm

See Directory for individual office hours.

Closed Weekends & all Government Holidays


April 7, 2020- Commission Meeting- 8:30 AM- Commissioner Room

April 10 & April 13, 2020- Closed- Good Friday & Easter Sunday

April 21, 2020- Commission Meeting- 8:30 AM- Commissioner Room

May 5, 2020- Commission Meeting- 8:30AM- Commissioner Room

May 19, 2020- Commission Meeting- 8:30 AM






Sheriff          Vehicle Licensing          Birth/Death Certificates          Tax Information

County Extension (4H)          ICAP          Court          Veteran's Services


The Kingsbury County Commission and Department Heads met during the commission meeting today to discuss how we can continue to serve the public in the best way possible while also protecting them and our employees. The decision was made that UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE public access to the county Courthouse will be closed, except by appointment, as of Wednessday March 18, 2020.  Please do as many transactions as possible through phone, mail or email.  If you absolutely need to be seen in person please call the office you are needing to do business with  prior to coming in and we will attempt to assist you as needed.

Please see the department page under the Directory tab for specific office details.  We would like to assure our customers that we are taking extra precautions to prevent the spread of the COVID-19 virus.

Kingsbury County is located on the eastern side of South Dakota.  The county was created in 1873 and organized in 1880.  It is named for two brothers, George W. and T.A. Kingsbury of the prominent Kingsbury family.  It's county seat is De Smet.  The couthouse was built in 1898 and is located at 202 2nd St. SE in De Smet.  The residents of Kingsbury County are proud to say that the Kingsbury County Courthouse is listed on the Federal Historical Register.

County COVID-19 Information

Resolution No. 2020-2

Ordinance No. 52